Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Hunting and Fishing in the Adirondacks
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-09-2006, 04:02 AM   #1
sacredloon
Administrator

Question Lake Clear Wabbler ?

Hello everyone! i'm a newbie here! Looks like a great group of ADK'ers on here. I love to fish, and camp and hike when I can. Right now I have a new Radisson canoe and I want to catch some trout!

Trouble is...I am a beginner and not 100% sure I am doing it right. I have been going on lakes. I have no idea how to fly fish, not yet atleast.

Forgive my silly questions!

I have Lake Clear Wabblers, but I am not sure how to rig them up, I have a regular fishing pole, and I have been using nightcrawlers. Do i put the hook right onto the wabbler, or have a leader in there? Also i need a little help knowing what size hook to use. I have a full stock of supplies. I bass fish too, and have no problem with that, I just want some trout! How deep do I go, use split shot, and troll? I have the trolling rig too.

Thanks in advance, i need all the help I can get! I have many more questions too but I dont want to wear out my welcome with my first post, thanks guys!
sacredloon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 08:37 AM   #2
Adk Keith
Telemarker

Generally speaking I use a 12"-18" leader after the wobbler. I troll slowly and have never used sinkers. I am usually on small ponds in a canoe. On deeper lakes you probably would need weight to get it down to the desired depth. How deep? Only as deep as the fish are....
Adk Keith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2006, 08:50 AM   #3
Wldrns

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adk Keith