Adirondack Forum

Adirondack Forum (http://www.adkforum.com/index.php)
-   General Adirondack Discussion (http://www.adkforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Thoughts on Gothics via Pyramid (http://www.adkforum.com/showthread.php?t=19322)

jesst7 10-05-2013 11:26 PM

Thoughts on Gothics via Pyramid

I'm fairly new to the High Peaks area and recently hiked my 4th. The most challenging being Dix from route 73. I enjoyed the hike so much and now I want to hike Gothics with some friends. How does the hike from Gothics via Pyramid and Dix compare? Is one more challenging than the other?
I've done lots of research on the forums and was just curious of everyone's thoughts? Thanks

Telemarkmike 10-06-2013 09:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jesst7 (Post 208010)
I'm fairly new to the High Peaks area and recently hiked my 4th. The most challenging being Dix from route 73. I enjoyed the hike so much and now I want to hike Gothics with some friends. How does the hike from Gothics via Pyramid and Dix compare? Is one more challenging than the other?
I've done lots of research on the forums and was just curious of everyone's thoughts? Thanks

Dix from Route 73 is as steep as any of the trails get in the ADK's. Gothics via Pyramid is no harder.

rdl 10-06-2013 10:14 AM

They're both steep and steady climbs to peaks with awesome views. If you could do Dix with no problems then you'll have no problems with Gothics via Pyramid.

adkjack 10-06-2013 11:58 AM

IIRC it is 1,200 feet of ele gain from the Pyramid/ Sawteeth col and pretty steep. However no worse than the climb up Dix. The views from Pyramid make this route outstanding. Have fun and keep an eye on the weather. This route can be challenging with ice.

jesst7 10-06-2013 01:25 PM