Three days at Lake Colden.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Three days at Lake Colden.

I'm not a total newbie when it comes to camping but the combination of peakbagging and camping is not exactly my forté. I thought I'd kill two or three birds with one stone and:
    • do some training
    • assess my current fitness status
    • shakedown my camping technique
    • have fun

It took me a few days to get ready and dehydrate my suppers, make some beef jerky, granola bars and granola and decide on my gear and clothing. By the time my pack was crammed full it weighed no less than 39 pounds, roughly double the target for P-FD! In keeping with the boot camp mentality I got up at 3:30 am and was hiking on a rock solid trail from the Loj at 6:50. The spikes went on just past Marcy Dam and stayed on while hiking for nearly the entire 3 days I was out. The Northern Lite snowshoes I carried were useless dead weight that I left below every summit.

Much to my delight the ice on Avalanche Lake was a good 4 inches thick and this was a time and energy saver although I gave some of that up by attempting to take the ski trail out onto Lake Colden. The north end of the lake was a mess of open, swampy pools of water and after soaking my boots I ended up turning around and taking the trail part-way around before crossing on the ice.