Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Hiking in the Adirondacks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 08-24-2010, 10:44 PM   #1
WNYakker

Backpack and Daypack Size Recommendations

What size Backpack do you experts recommend for a typical Summertime 1 or 2 night trip in the ADK's?

What size Daypack for a single summertime day hike/mountain climb in the ADK's?

I am a complete newby to hiking/backpacking....I went to the local EMS store and the helpful employee answered my basic questions....I really like the Osprey brand, but I am stuck on what size I need.

I realize it all depends what I plan to take, but I have done some research on minimizing the load.

Thanks,

Phil
Old 08-24-2010, 10:58 PM   #2
redhawk
Senior Resident Curmudgeon

Hi Phil.

First of all you can't go wrong with the Ospreys.

The Kestrel 68 is good for a couple of overnights and the pack I now am using.

A little larger you have the Osprey Aether for multi overnights.

Personally I prefer the Kestrel.

Hawk
"If future generations are to remember us with gratitude rather than contempt, we must leave them more than the miracles of technology. We must leave them a glimpse of the world as it was in the beginning, not just after we got through with it." Lyndon B. Johnson
redhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2010, 12:28 AM   #3
Dick
somewhere out there...

I have an Osprey Atmos 50, which I currently use as a daypack (large) and as a one or two overnight pack. But before you decide upon a model and size, I would first ask what you plan on putting into the pack. Even bring gear to the store and try several out with your real gear in it (not one of those phony weighted pads the store uses). If you're lucky, you'll get one that fits well all around. Then decide what bells and whistles you want/need.