Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Paddling in the Adirondacks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 02-03-2016, 09:29 PM   #1
snipe523

Resources for new paddling destinations

I'm looking for resources to discover new paddling locations for the upcoming season. I have been recommended the Quiet Water New York guide. Is there any other good resources I should be looking into. I'm pretty new to paddling so I'm looking to soak up all the info I can.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
snipe523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2016, 10:05 PM   #2
Wldrns

You're going to be overwhelmed, but you can begin with the links below. Once you get a better idea of the type of paddling you like, there are plenty of people who would be glad to help.

Books:
Highly recommend Dave Cilley's "Adirondack Paddlers Guide" AND the accompanying map:
Find it at many outlets, or at the St Regis Canoe Outfitter shop or online:
https://www.canoeoutfitters.com/store/maps-guidebooks

Another is Phil Brown's "Adirondack Paddling: 60 Great Flatwater Adventures":
http://www.adk.org/page.php?pname=news-paddling-guide (also available on Amazon)

An older but very useful book is "Adirondack Canoe Waters, North Flow"
by Jammieson & Morris

Paddlefinder is a new work in progress from Brian McDonnell of MacsCanoe.com
It lists both races and recreational paddling trips. I can reccommend that you attend some of the races, not specifically to race (although you can if you want), but to watch and get acquainted with lots of friendly canoe people who also paddle recreationally in the Adirondacks and literally world wide.
http://www.paddlefinder.com

And there's always the Northern Forest Canoe trail, a 740 mile route that begins in Old Forge and ends in Maine.
http://www.northernforestcanoetrail.org