Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > General Adirondack Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 10-05-2013, 11:26 PM   #1
jesst7
Jess

Thoughts on Gothics via Pyramid

I'm fairly new to the High Peaks area and recently hiked my 4th. The most challenging being Dix from route 73. I enjoyed the hike so much and now I want to hike Gothics with some friends. How does the hike from Gothics via Pyramid and Dix compare? Is one more challenging than the other?
I've done lots of research on the forums and was just curious of everyone's thoughts? Thanks
jesst7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 09:20 AM   #2
Telemarkmike

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesst7 View Post
I'm fairly new to the High Peaks area and recently hiked my 4th. The most challenging being Dix from route 73. I enjoyed the hike so much and now I want to hike Gothics with some friends. How does the hike from Gothics via Pyramid and Dix compare? Is one more challenging than the other?
I've done lots of research on the forums and was just curious of everyone's thoughts? Thanks
Dix from Route 73 is as steep as any of the trails get in the ADK's. Gothics via Pyramid is no harder.
Old 10-06-2013, 10:14 AM   #3
rdl

They're both steep and steady climbs to peaks with awesome views. If you could do Dix with no problems then you'll have no problems with Gothics via Pyramid.
rdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2013, 11:58 AM   #4
adkjack
Admin

IIRC it is 1,200 feet of ele gain from the Pyramid/ Sawteeth col and pretty steep. However no worse than the climb up Dix. The views from Pyramid make this route outstanding. Have fun and keep an eye on the weather. This route can be challenging with ice.