Adirondack Forum  
Rules Membership Donations and Online Store Adkhighpeaks Foundation ADKhighpeaks Forums ADKhighpeaks Wiki Disclaimer

Go Back   Adirondack Forum > The Adirondack Forum > Paddling in the Adirondacks
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 05-06-2017, 02:45 PM   #1
Bagadeez04

Canoeing in Adk for beginners

I've always thought canoeing looks like a unique way to enjoy the Adirondacks and other places, I love the videos I've seen from the members on here documenting their adventures.

I've been backpacking in the adirondacks for about 10 years now, but have no experience with a canoe. Any pointers, or suggestions for getting started?

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Last edited by Bagadeez04; 05-06-2017 at 03:07 PM..
Bagadeez04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 03:53 PM   #2
Swamp Booger

Link up with a friend who has a canoe and experience. Where do you live? Perhaps a forum member (like myself)with a canoe would be willing to show you the ropes.
My pictures:
https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/PT...=photos_albums
Swamp Booger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 04:02 PM   #3
sweeper

Find yourself a inexpensive canoe on C-list. Buy some good PFDs and paddles and start by paddling roadside lakes and ponds. Check out videos on Youtube on how to paddle and have fun. As you gain experience you can start carrying the canoe between the lakes and ponds, so when you're looking at canoes try to find one you can carry for a 1/4-1/2 mile. Then you can take you Backpacking gear add another 30lbs of luxury equipment and really enjoy the woods.
sweeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2017, 04:21 PM   #4
Bagadeez04

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swamp Booger View Post
Link up with a friend who has a canoe and experience. Where do you live? Perhaps a forum member (like myself)with a canoe would be willing to show you the ropes.